Paul Hogue, RIP

Mikan, Pettit, Celtics dynasty, Wilt, and early expansion

Paul Hogue, RIP

Postby rlee » Sun Aug 23, 2009 6:43 pm

Color barrier in sports breaks down slowly

Commentary by Dwight Lewis
THE TENNESSEAN

Some messages you just hate to receive. Such was the case yesterday when I received an e-mail from a high school classmate informing me and others that a famed Knoxville Austin High School basketball player had died in Cincinnati.

Paul Hogue, 69, was more than just a famed high school basketball player. He was special. He was also a historical figure — even though one who had been out of the limelight for many years.

In 1958, when Hogue — who was 6-foot-9 — graduated from Knoxville's Austin High School, he was shunned by athletic recruiters from top Southern colleges.

"When I graduated from high school, I guess it was a time when you took things for granted,'' Hogue told me during a telephone interview back in February 1987. "It was just the way things were back then.

"You dreamed, but you dreamed about faraway places. You looked beyond the South. You looked to places like Kansas, where Wilt Chamberlain played basketball, and New York. You didn't put a lot of emphasis on Southern teams.''

Hogue, who died on Monday in Jewish Hospital in Cincinnati, said when he graduated from high school that one Knoxville sportswriter, Tom Siler of The Knoxville News-Sentinel, wrote an article that raised the question of why the University of Tennessee did not consider recruiting players from Austin High — which was an all-black high school — since UT's basketball team was struggling.

"I never heard a word from UT,'' Hogue told me.

Since staying home and playing for the University of Tennessee was not possible — UT would not have a black athlete until Nashville's Lester McClain signed a scholarship to play football there in 1967 — Hogue signed scholarship papers to play basketball for the University of Cincinati.